The new 6th grade group has nowhere to go; indeed, they can neither run nor hide.

To that, I can only say, “MWahahahahah !!”

Did you notice the cleverly placed semicolon in that first sentence? As I told the students,
even high school and college students rarely know how to use this piece of punctuation.
I suggested that they may soon be smarter than a lot of adults when it comes to the semicolon.

The homework assignment was to take a set of words (which are called adverbial conjunctions [and they must remember to NEVER try to remember this horrible term- EVER!]) and place a semicolon before them, and a comma after them. I mentioned that if they, instead of just writing unrelated example sentences, were to actually turn those sentences into a little story, I would be extremely pleased. So pleased that I may not even know what to do with myself.

Among the pages of student journals, I came across this gem:

The octopus was going to get a crab; however, a human took it first. The octopus was very angry; nevertheless, it could go and kill the human; still, it was very hungry for crab. So it found another crab; however, the same human took the crab again. So the octopus found a swordfish; in addition, it threw it at the human; then, the human caught it and said, “Thank you, indeed, my friend.”

The octopus got more angry; however, he couldn’t do anything about it. So the octopus kept on throwing fish and stuff; thus, the human caught it. Soon the human had nowhere to keep the fish; furthermore, he created an aquarium to keep the fish in. Then the human got richer than before; however, the octopus grew more angry than normal. Then the human said, “Who was the one that threw all those fish at me?; thus, I will let you live happily in a tank and get to eat crab every day of your life.”

The octopus heard that; therefore, he was very happy and showed up to the human.The octopus lived happily; nevertheless, he died at an age of 10 years old.

THIS IS WHY I SAY THAT LOGOS 6TH GRADERS ARE TENACIOUS!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgPqmRNjoTE

